The restaurant

Since January 2018, the scent of oregano, thyme and rosemary has been wafting along rue du Rhône from the Marjolaine Restaurant, Philippe Chevrier’s latest business venture.

LOCATION

Le 49 Rhône (formerly Bavaria since 1912), is a legendary Geneva restaurant whose listed décor takes us back to the atmosphere of the great brasseries or trattorias of the early twentieth century.

 

 

It is in this majestic setting, adorned with old posters oak panelling and high ceilings, that Philippe Chevrier wanted to revive the restaurant by inspiring it with vibrant cuisine with a Mediterranean touch.

HISTORY

In 1912, Adolphe Neiger opened a brasserie specialising in selling German beer, which explains its name, the Bavaria. This popular establishment, decorated in a folk style evoking the Germanic “bierstube”, was to go on to experience a very special destiny. Indeed, the League of Nations, which was set up in Geneva in 1919, held its meetings at 65 rue du Rhône.

The Bavaria very soon became the “stamm” bar for delegates from all over the world. It was during this period that the Hungarian cartoonists, Derso and Kelen, drew the portraits of the celebrities of the diplomatic world who frequented the place. These drawings were to remain on the walls of the brasserie until 1982. In 1942, the owner decided to transform the décor with the architect Jean Falciola and the interior designer Louis Amiguet, by creating high oak panelling interspersed with mirrors, wood-panelled ceilings and restaurant furniture.

In 1982, when the Bavaria became the Relais de l’Entrecôte, all of this interior design was carefully maintained. During the second decade of the twenty-first century, a census of the canton’s old cafés and restaurants, conducted by the Heritage and Sites Office, identified the qualities of this décor. A classification decision was therefore made by the competent authorities which, although it was disputed right up to the Federal Court, ended in 2012.

So, exactly one century after its creation, the former brasserie was classified, thus becoming the first public establishment in the canton to benefit from this heritage protection measure. The recent refurbishment work has helped to preserve and highlight the interesting elements. Isabelle Brunier, historian, OPS, 10.3.2015

Le restaurant

Depuis janvier 2018, des effluves d’origan, de thym et de romarin flottent sur la rue du Rhône pour mener jusqu’au restaurant Marjolaine, nouvelle enseigne de Philippe Chevrier.

LE LIEU

Le 49 Rhône (anciennement Bavaria depuis 1912), est une adresse mythique genevoise dont le décor classé, nous replonge dans l’ambiance des grandes brasseries ou trattorias du début du XXème siècle.

 

 

C’est dans ce cadre majestueux, orné de vieilles affiches, de boiseries de chêne et de hauts plafonds, que Philippe Chevrier a souhaité redonner vie au restaurant en lui insufflant une cuisine du soleil, aux accents méditerranéens.

L’HISTOIRE

1912, Adolphe Neiger ouvre une brasserie spécialisée dans le débit de bières allemandes, ce qui explique son nom, la Bavaria. Cet établissement, populaire et décoré dans un style folklorique évoquant les « bierstube » germaniques, allait connaître un destin tout à fait particulier. En effet, la Société des Nations, qui s’installe en 1919 à Genève, reçoit ses assemblées rue du Rhône, au n°65.

Très vite la Bavaria, devient la buvette, le « stamm » des délégués du monde entier. C’est durant cette période que les caricaturistes d’origine hongroise, Derso et Kelen, tirent le portrait des célébrités du monde diplomatique qui fréquentent l’endroit, notamment Aristide Brilland : dessins qui resteront accrochés aux murs de la brasserie jusqu’en 1982. En 1942, le propriétaire décide de transformer le décor avec l’architecte Jean Falciola et l’ensemblier Louis Amiguet, en créant les hautes boiseries de chêne, entrecoupées de miroirs, les plafonds à caissons boisés et le mobilier du restaurant.

En 1982, lorsque la Bavaria devient le Relais de l’Entrecôte, tout cet ensemble est soigneusement maintenu. Durant la deuxième décennie du XXIe siècle, un recensement des anciens cafés et restaurants du canton, mené par l’Office du patrimoine et des sites, identifie les qualités de ce décor. Une décision de classement est donc prise par les autorités compétentes qui, bien que contestée jusqu’au Tribunal fédéral, aboutit en 2012.

Ainsi, un siècle exactement après sa création, l’ancienne brasserie est classée, devenant de ce fait le premier établissement public du canton à bénéficier de cette mesure de protection patrimoniale. Les récents travaux de rafraichissements ont permis de conserver et de mettre en valeur les éléments intéressants. Isabelle Brunier, historienne, OPS, 10.3.2015